India set to host ICC Women’s World Cup 2025

by Jul 26, 2022Sports0 comments

Cricket’s world governing body said Tuesday that India has been awarded the 2025 Women’s World Cup, marking the first time the country has hosted the tournament in more than a decade.

India will host the 2025 Women’s World Cup, the International Cricket Council said Tuesday. This will be the first time in more than a decade that India will host the tournament and the fourth time it will host a women’s World Cup over 50. The World Cup will be one of four women’s tournaments to be held in four years, starting with the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will take place in Bangladesh.

“This will be the first time Bangladesh will host a major ICC women’s tournament and the second time it will host a T20 World Cup. The tournament will take place between September and October and will consist of 10 teams playing 23 matches,” the ICC said.

“A year later, the action will move to India for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2025. The tournament will be the fifth in India to host an ICC Women’s tournament, with four tournaments so far as ICC Women’s World Cups. Eight teams will compete in the tournament, making a total of 31 matches.”

Australia emerged as champions the last time India hosted the tournament, beating the West Indies by 114 runs in the final in Mumbai. The last major women’s world cricket event held in India was the 2016 T20 World Cup, but that was mainly because ICC used to host men’s and women’s events simultaneously.

See also  Devin Haney secures WBC's undisputed lightweight title with a unanimous victory over George Kambosos.

Meanwhile, the 2026 T20 World Cup 2026 has been awarded to England. This will be the first time the tournament will be held in the country and the number of teams will also increase from 10 to 12, with a total of 33 matches to be played. The final event of the cycle, the ICC Women’s Champions Trophy 2027, will be hosted by Sri Lanka, subject to them qualifying for the tournament. The inaugural edition of the Women’s ICC Champions Trophy will be based on the T20 format. It will take place in February 2026, with six teams competing for the trophy in 16 matches.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

create a website with zero coding




Pin It on Pinterest

Share This